The Final of 2007

Today when a cricket writer sits down to write about the World T20 final of 2007 today, it is difficult for him not to look at that victory as the start of a golden age of Indian cricket. It is difficult for him not to look at that match as a harbinger of all the victories that came after it. The no. 1 Test ranking, the ICC World Cup of 2011, and the Champions Trophy of 2013 and others that came after the match at the Wanderers.

Continue reading


Yuvraj Singh: The prince who couldn’t be king

Before Yuvraj Singh happened, if you would have told anyone that there would be a cricketer, who would hit 6 sixes off 6 balls, who would help India win both World Cups (T-20 and ODIs), who would beat cancer and make a successful comeback to the Indian team, have a career that span almost 12 years and still will never be the consistent captain of the Indian team, you would probably laugh at him, or believe it to be a fictional story like Lagaan. Continue reading

The Indian Cricket Domestic Circuit: Part 4

Lets get this out of the way, I like the Indian Premier League. For 2 months, I don’t have to come home and think about what to watch on TV, its like enjoying EPL or Champions League, with a few moment of brilliance reveling in mediocrity. Now that my personal opinion is out of the way lets take a look at India’s gift to the cricket world, The IPL.



Continue reading

The Indian Cricket Domestic Circuit: Part 3

Now that the April AtoZ challenge is over. I can finally get back to writing about Cricket, Wrestling, Video Games and other dark stuff that no body cares about. First up, is the continuation to my coverage of the Indian Domestic Cricket tournaments. In the first 2 parts of the series, we covered the Ranji Trophy, followed by Duleep and the Irani Trophy. Today we would take a look at the limited overs tournaments that are organized by the BCCI in a typical Indian cricket year.

Continue reading

The Indian Cricket Domestic Circuit: Part 2

In our first look at the Indian Domestic Circuit, we took a look at India’s premier/first/oldest domestic tournament “The Ranji Trophy“. As we take our series forward we take a look at the other two domestic tournaments that are operated under First Class match rules: The Irani and The Duleep Trophy.

1st Class Cricket Tournament Strurture in India
The 3 First Class Trophy In India Right Now
Source :

Continue reading

The Indian Cricket Domestic Circuit: Part 1

Today we start a series which will take a look at the Indian cricket’s domestic scene. Everyone and their grandmother know what the I.P.L. is. But contrary to what most people think (or would like to believe), it’s not India’s premier domestic tournament, nor is it the proving or breeding ground for India’s brightest talents. What is Ranji? Who is Deodar? Who plays in the Challenger’s trophy? The answer to all these and more, would be answered in this series. In its 1st edition, we discuss perhaps the most important domestic tournament of them all, a tournament, known as the Ranji Trophy.

Ranji Trophy


Continue reading